About The Dark Swarm

A History of The Dark Swarm

I started playing WoW after a long struggle with myself, knowing I had an addictive personality when it came to videogames- mainly RPGs and the sort. I broke down when I realized WoW was exactly what I was looking for in that time of my life- and dragged my fiance into it with me, as I did with most games I played during our relationship. He and I still play to this day, in the guild we started together- and here is a history of how it all began... 

We started playing during the earlyish-middle of the Burning Crusade expansion. I decided that I wanted my own guild, not sure if it was from being a manager in retail for so many years, or just wanting a safe place to learn the game in with friends. We originally started as Horde, and I named the guild 'Dark Swarm' after an ability in StarCraft, the first and only Blizzard game I had played prior to WoW. The original guild is still in existence, and still on Horde.

I gathered a group of RL friends, and some friends from past games, and we recruited anyone from there. We met a lot of people from defending Crossroads (lol), and became friends, and eventually they joined the guild. During this time we were extremely casual, leveling, playing alts, and of course, PvPing. As our numbers grew, and Wrath of the Lich King was announced and the info released, we became an even tighter knit guild.

We eventually decided that when Wrath released we would try to get a raid team together and dabble in that aspect of the game that we hadn't really touched prior. We started in Naxx, and did rather well for a ragtag group of pretty much first- time raiders. We were considered 10-man Strict when that was a thing, and took pride in it. Even though we weren't anywhere near competitive, it was still cool being ranked high for the kills with the gear we were using.